Brownie Balls w/ Sea Salt and Peppermint

unnamed-35

Recipes are my enemy. I like to go into the kitchen and play around with ingredients until I create something edible. Occasionally, however, I happen upon a recipe worth following (at least, mostly… I still can’t keep myself from playing around with it a little bit). This one was shared by a friend, and I modified it to suit my fancy. Enjoy!

*Note: Coconut products speak my language! Maintaining a healthy lifestyle AND controlling the sweet tooth cannot be done without an ample supply of coconut milk, oil, and flour! If you’ve never tried coconut flour prepare yourself for a real treat!

1/2+ cup coconut flour (play around with it – you will probably need a little more than 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup cacao powder (not to be confused with cocoa powder)
3-6 “dashes” of salt
1/2 cup Kerrygold butter – melted (or coconut oil if you’re not a “butter believer”)
1/3+ cup REAL maple syrup (OR sweetener of choice – to taste)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (or a little more if you’re vanilla obsessed like I am!)
OPTIONAL: (2 drops of peppermint Essential Oil from Young Living – I can’t recommend the consumption of any other brand of EO)

-Mix
-Roll in small balls
-Roll balls in either sea salt, crushed peppermints, coconut, or nut pieces
-Refrigerate for a few hours

*Note: I’m not a fan of peppermint + chocolate together, so I made two batches of these brownies – one with the peppermint EO rolled in crushed peppermint and one without rolled in sea salt. I personally devoured the sea salt bites! And I was told my the peppermint lovers in my home that the others were just as delectable.

Leave a Reply

