Unveiling Beauty // Mary Kate

I am overjoyed to share with you a little sampling of the wisdom, beauty, and grace found in the life of this girl. As soon as I started getting to know Mary Kate I knew there was no turning back! She has been the truest of friends, encouraging me when I stumble, laughing with me over British dramas, embracing my sarcastic side with an equally vibrant one of her own, and always pointing me towards Christ with her every word and action. “Mama Mary Kate” is one of the wisest women I know, her heart for missions and furthering the kingdom of God shines through every moment of her life, and hers is the most reliable shoulder to lean on. Thank you for your life, Mary Kate. Your wisdom, discernment, and passion are true gifts from the Lord, and I can’t wait to see the wonders He will do through your life!
IMG_4030

+ how would you describe your style?

I would describe my style as classy. I try to create a wardrobe that is not only stylish but also one that is timeless so that I don’t have to keep replacing pieces to keep up with the ever-changing times.

IMG_4088

+  what does beauty mean to you?

Beauty to me is first and foremost inward. It frustrates me to no end that society, men, and women, constantly refer to outward beauty as the ultimate prize when, in reality, inward beauty is the most important. Inward beauty comes from the Holy Spirit and is all about the joy that Christ gives. That joy and countenance is more beautiful and more valuable than any outside beauty the world tells us girls that we need.

IMG_3958

+ what makes you come alive?

Culture. Culture is something that God created and gave to us to enjoy. I love exploring the differences in people and learning about the individual culture of my friends and those around me. It makes me come alive because I know the unifying factor is that Jesus died to save us all and the equalizing factor among all cultures is that we all need the grace of God equally- that makes me come alive.

IMG_4110

+ when you hear the word “modesty” what do you think of? what does modesty mean to you?

When I hear the word modesty, I think of selflessness. Modesty is thinking more highly of others than of yourself; it is considering the fact that not covering yourself is a stumbling block to the Christian and non- Christian men around you. Now, when I say, “covering yourself,” I don’t mean always wearing pants and long sleeves. I mean reasonably, covering yourself so that the minds of the men around us are not stirred to think of us in a sexual way. It’s not just something that we should do. It is something that we have to do in order to respect ourselves and to respect our brothers in Christ.

IMG_4122

+ high heels or flats?

I love high heels, but, at the end of the day, I am probably going for the comfort factor. So, I am going to have to go with the flats.

IMG_4097

+ what is the number one item in your closet you would be loath to part with?

I have this one red blouse that is my go-to top. I wear it whenever I have nothing else to wear and when I need something I know will look great. I would be so upset if something happened to it.

IMG_3961

+ what/who gives you confidence? (besides that perfectly perfect shade of lipstick!)

I try to be a confident person no matter what I am wearing. I think confidence is not something that should come from what you are wearing, but that it should be a general way you carry yourself no matter what. However, I feel most confident when I am completely put together, when I have an outfit on that is flattering and I have accessories and shoes that compliment what I am wearing really well.

IMG_4085

+ how do you hope to inspire others to embrace their God-given beauty and style?

I always try to tell people the truth, no matter what the circumstances, and the truth is that we, as humans, are God’s most prized possessions. We are His workmanship, His poems that declare His glory, and someone that declares the glory of God is someone who is beautiful. God has made all beautiful and cares for all in their uniqueness. So, embrace yourself and your style. At the end of the day, it’s about being whom God made you to be, not what the world tells you to be.

IMG_4125

Leave a Reply

