Hello, 2014 // February 2nd – March 14th

Everybody falls sometimes
Gotta find the strength to rise
From the ashes
And make a new beginning

It doesn’t matter what you’ve heard
Impossible is not a word
It’s just a reason
For someone not to try

– Kutless, What Faith Can Do

unnamed-7

February 2nd – March 14th

The past month has been long and brutal. Midterm stress turned into a cold… which turned into the flu… which turned into bronchitis… which turned into pneumonia… which culminated in my missing almost two weeks worth of classes, exams, and assignments. Needless to say, the honors student within me was full of anxiety and emotional turmoil. However, I am so thankful for the love and support I received from my professors, friends (both back home and here at school), and most importantly my family! With their help I have been able to take great leaps towards a full recovery, both physically and academically, from my lengthy hiatus. Tomorrow I am heading to California with Josh where we will meet up with the rest of the family to enjoy a much anticipated spring break!

From the dairy of a delirious white girl – February 25th, 2014: This has been a rough week. Yet God is good. Even though I’ve had a fever for 6+ days now. Still good. I’ve taken midterm exams while coughing up a lung. Missed classes (something unfathomable last semester). Spent too much time on the road back and forth between home, and school, and the doctor. Still He is good. I’m blessed beyond belief with a family who makes sacrifices for me, a mother willing to nurse me back to health, and understanding professors. The honors student in me feels overwhelmed and discouraged. Yet, my Heavenly Father is still good, and despite my anxiety He wraps me in His everlasting arms and whispers, “Be still. I AM.” So as I begin my recovery (antibiotics start tonight) I’m looking ever upwards and counting the many gifts in my life. Today I am thankful for a major that allows me to read timeless literature for homework, and the opportunity to spend so much time in bed in order to catch up on it. Mostly I’m clinging to the promise that “this too shall pass” and soon I will feel alive again. No matter my academic status, and my success or failure on my midterms, my life will go on. Thank you guys for your prayers. They are covering me through the breathing troubled and the worry, and reminding me in every moment of His goodness.

Life did go on and here I am, despite the missed classes and exams. God is still good and He continues to wrap me in His loving arms and whisper “Be still. I AM.” Thank you, thank you, thank you again to everyone who prayed for me to experience healing, strength, and comfort. I am blessed beyond belief and ready for a refreshing spring break in Cali!

Leave a Reply

